Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: a goal AND a power play

  1. #1
    Trying to follow the puck
    Join Date
    Jan 2003

    a goal AND a power play

    If a team scores during a delayed penalty, the team gets to keep its power play. How does this rule change affect tactics? There was a case of this last weekend in Michigan at BG. A Michigan player took off on a breakaway, and a BG player hooked him enough to draw a penalty but not enough to prevent the goal. I'm thinking the defensive player had darn well prevent the goal in this case. What do you think?
    Go Falcons!

  2. #2
    Anti-Semantic The Rube's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Chez Rube

    Re: a goal AND a power play

    It's gonna encourage mugging the offensive player, even though that's not the intent of the rule. It'll be like any other preventative penalty of this nature (fouling someone when they are about to make an easy basket on a breakway, or committing pass interference on an otherwise for-sure catch): "If I totally take him out, maybe tackling him, then at least it's just the penalty."
    Never really developed a taste for tequila. Kind of hard to understand how you make a drink out of something that sharp, inhospitable. Now, bourbon is easy to understand.
    Tastes like a warm summer day. -Raylan Givens

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts