View Full Version : 2012 All Ivy League honors

03-01-2012, 02:53 PM
Congrats to Brian O'Neill as Player of the Year

Men's Ice Hockey All-Ivy -- 2012

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Yale senior forward Brian O'Neill has been named the 2012 Ivy League Men's Ice Hockey Player of the year, as selected by the League's six head coaches. The senior captain and Hobey Baker Candidate has been an offensive force for the Bulldogs this season and leads the squad into the ECAC Tournament that begins this weekend as the sixth seed.

O'Neill (Yardley, Pa.) becomes the eighth Bulldog to be named the Ivy League Player of the Year and Yale has had two of the past three winners as Sean Backman earned the honor in 2010. On the season, O'Neill has 19 goals and 21 assists to lead all Ivy League scorers with 40 points. In ten Ivy games, O'Neill led the League with 21 points on seven goals and 14 assists.

O'Neill continues to climb over some old Bulldogs and former NHL players on the school's career lists. He is now fourth in points (157), fourth in assists (90) and seventh in goals (67) on the Yale career charts. O'Neill ranks sixth in the nation and second in the ECAC (.68) in goals per game this year, he is eighth (1.38) in points. O'Neill was a honorable mention All-Ivy selection last season.

Cornell freshman forward Brian Ferlin (Jacksonville, Fla.) was voted the 2012 Ivy League Rookie of the Year, becoming the first Big Red player to earn the honor since 2008 when Riley Nash earned the honor. He is the seventh Cornell player to earn the award since it was first bestowed in 1980.

Ferlin was third in Ivy League scoring with five goals and eight assists for 13 points in 10 games. Those totals also led Ivy League rookies across the board. Ferlin is tied for second on the team in overall assists (13) and points (21). He also ranks second on the team with a plus-15 rating. He also has eight goals on the year, including a power-play tally and a game-winning goal.

O'Neill, a unanimous All-Ivy first-team selection, is joined on the first line by Harvard senior Alex Killorn (Montreal, Quebec), who was also a unanimous selection, and Brown senior Jack Maclellan (Calgary, Alberta).

Killorn has an even 18 goals and 18 assists for 36 points entering ECAC Tournament play, the second-highest total amongst Ivy League skaters. In 10 Ivy games played this season, Killorn scored a League-best eight goals and added four assists. Killorn was a second team All-Ivy honoree as a junior.

Maclellan has 15 goals and 14 assists for 29 points this season, tied for fifth-most amongst Ivy League players. In Ivy games only, he scored five goals and added four assists for nine points. Maclelland, a Lowe's Senior CLASS Award finalist, leads the Bears in goals, assists, points, power-play goals (8), short-handed goals (2) and game-winning goals (4). He has 100 career points entering postseason play on 46 goals and 54 assists.

Juniors Danny Biega (Montreal, Quebec) of Harvard and Michael Sdao (Niwot, Colo.) of Princeton earned first-team All-Ivy honors on defense, with Biega doing so in unanimous fashion. It also marked Biega's second straight appearance on the All-Ivy first team.

Beiga is Harvard's second-leading scorer on the year with eight goals and 22 assists for 30 points. The Carolina Hurricanes product leads the Crimson in assists, and in 10 Ivy games played he has recorded three goals and 11 assists for 14 points, which is the second-highest point total in the League. Sdao has 18 points on the year on eight goals and 10 assists, including three power-play goals. The Ottawa draft pick has three goals and seven assists in 10 Ivy games played this year.

Cornell goaltender Andy Iles (Ithaca, N.Y.) got the nod in net for the All-Ivy first team. The sophomore posted a 15-7-7 record in regular-season play to go along with a 2.12 goals against average and a .917 save percentage. In Ivy games only, Iles has posted a League-best 2.26 goals against average. With then senior Ben Scrivens earning first team All-Ivy honors in 2010, the Big Red have two of the last three All-Ivy first team goaltenders.

Player of the Year
F Brian O'Neill, Yale (Sr., Yardley, Pa.)

Rookie of the Year
F Brian Ferlin, Cornell (Fr., Jacksonville, Fla.)

First Team
F Alex Killorn, Harvard (Sr., Montreal, Quebec)*
F Jack Maclellan, Brown (Sr., Calgary, Alberta)
F Brian O'Neill, Yale (Sr., Yardley, Pa.)*
D Danny Biega, Harvard (Jr., Montreal, Quebec)*
D Michael Sdao, Princeton (Jr., Niwot, Colo.)
G Andy Iles, Cornell (So., Ithaca, N.Y.)

Second Team^
F Andrew Calof, Princeton (So., Nepean, Ontario)
F Brian Ferlin, Cornell (Fr., Jacksonville, Fla.)
F Greg Miller, Cornell (Jr., Toronto, Ontario)
D Nick D'Agostino, Cornell (Jr., Bolton, Ontario)
D Connor Goggin, Dartmouth (Sr., Glen Ellyn, Ill.)
D Dennis Robertson, Brown (So., Fort St. John, British Columbia)
G Steve Michalek, Harvard (Fr., Glastonbury, Conn.)

Honorable Mention
F Kenny Agostino, Yale (So., Flanders, N.J.)
F Doug Jones, Dartmouth (Sr., Marietta, Ga.)
F Andrew Miller, Yale (Jr., Bloomfield Hills, Mich.)