PDA

View Full Version : Suspend Kyle Rau for as long as Jason Zucker is unable to play!



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

goldy_331
02-14-2012, 08:16 PM
hey guys, I'm new here...any chance of an NCAA video game? ;)

Sure, just as soon as there is a Big Ten Hockey Conference . . . oh, wait.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 08:17 PM
What rules?
We're still waiting for the rules that say it wasn't.
He wasn't finishing a check, he hadn't even initiated one when Zucker let the puck go, so that "point" is moot.

Hadn't initiated a check? He took about six strides towards Zucker before he released the puck. I think he clearly initiated. Take a link at the link I posted with discussion on finishing a check. It seems as though you are unclear as to what constitutes initiating a check.

And as for the "rules". It doesn't give any guidelines on finishing a check. So, it doesn't prove or disprove what I'm saying. However, the absence of a "late hit" penalty certainly seems to disprove what you're saying.

First Time, Long Time
02-14-2012, 08:20 PM
Hadn't initiated a check? He took about six strides towards Zucker before he released the puck. I think he clearly initiated. Take a link at the link I posted with discussion on finishing a check. It seems as though you are unclear as to what constitutes initiating a check.

And as for the "rules". It doesn't give any guidelines on finishing a check. So, it doesn't prove or disprove what I'm saying. However, the absence of a "late hit" penalty certainly seems to disprove what you're saying.

I don't consider skating toward someone to be "initiating a check"
I also think interferrence would qualify as being a "late hit" penalty.
Boarding was the better call here but it doesn't mean interferrence could not also have been the call.

And your link is for the NHL, this isn't the NHL.
Different leagues have different rules.

Tipsy McStagger
02-14-2012, 08:24 PM
One other note. It was NOT a late hit. You are allowed to finish your check, and that includes up to what I believe in the NCAA is up to a few seconds after the puck is gone. Watch the replay, Rau hits him only a few seconds after Zucker gets rid of the puck. I checked with the head of officiating for MNHS hockey and he said they wouldn't have considered it late in their games either.

Problem is, as I have mentioned before, it was CLEARLY a charge and a hit to the head. In addition to contact to the head and checks from behind, I think all charges should warrant major penalties as well, if not game ejections in addition. At least ones as agregious as Rau's.

So, here is your initial "late hit" comment. You made no argument here that there is no such thing as a late hit penalty. You simply said it was not a late hit.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 08:27 PM
So, here is your initial "late hit" comment. You made no argument here that there is no such thing as a late hit penalty. You simply said it was not a late hit.

I thought the fact that there is no "late hit penalty" was self-explanatory. I guess with some people it wasn't. My bad.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 08:31 PM
I don't consider skating toward someone to be "initiating a check"
I also think interferrence would qualify as being a "late hit" penalty.
Boarding was the better call here but it doesn't mean interferrence could not also have been the call.

And your link is for the NHL, this isn't the NHL.
Different leagues have different rules.

Considering neither rule book explicitly defines what does and does not constitute "initiating" or "finishing" a check, but there are long-standing general rules for both (and an abundance of discussions to support that), I think the example I provided is more than applicable.

And please, tell me this. Even if interference would have been called, can you think of a single example of someone who was either ejected or suspended because of interference?

darker98
02-14-2012, 08:34 PM
Considering neither rule book explicitly defines what does and does not constitute "initiating" or "finishing" a check, but there are long-standing general rules for both (and an abundance of discussions to support that), I think the example I provided is more than applicable.

And please, tell me this. Even if interference would have been called, can you think of a single example of someone who was either ejected or suspended because of interference?
I thought it was because of a hit to the head.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 08:35 PM
I thought it was because of a hit to the head.

It was. And the fact that Rau took about eight strides before he hit Zucker was probably a factor as well.

Tipsy McStagger
02-14-2012, 08:39 PM
I thought the fact that there is no "late hit penalty" was self-explanatory. I guess with some people it wasn't. My bad.

So you thought the fact that there isn't a penalty titled "late hit", means that there is no such thing as a late hit, even though the rules that Bale posted use the exact phrase in "late hit"?

Final question:

Despite the fact that there is no penalty for "late hit", do you believe that some hits that would otherwise be legal are whistled for penalties due to the timing of said hits? If yes, does the Rau hit fall under this category?

dxmnkd316
02-14-2012, 08:41 PM
hey guys, I'm new here...any chance of an NCAA video game? ;)

Only if Zucker has a 0 for injury rating That guy clearly can't take a check!

First Time, Long Time
02-14-2012, 08:46 PM
Considering neither rule book explicitly defines what does and does not constitute "initiating" or "finishing" a check, but there are long-standing general rules for both (and an abundance of discussions to support that), I think the example I provided is more than applicable.

And please, tell me this. Even if interference would have been called, can you think of a single example of someone who was either ejected or suspended because of interference?

Suspended for interference I haven't seen but I have seen 5 and a game misc. called for interference in a college game before.
He was suspended for the hit to head, but the point you are missing is that the hit was still late, regardless of whether he was called for it or not, it was late.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 08:47 PM
So you thought the fact that there isn't a penalty titled "late hit", means that there is no such thing as a late hit, even though the rules that Bale posted use the exact phrase in "late hit"?

Final question:

Despite the fact that there is no penalty for "late hit", do you believe that some hits that would otherwise be legal are whistled for penalties due to the timing of said hits? If yes, does the Rau hit fall under this category?

The paragraph that Bale posted were guidelines to consider when calling a major penalty for hits to the head. It explains exactly that in the rule book.

I have never disputed the fact that Rau's hit was to Zucker's head. I have never disputed the fact that Zucker was in a vulnerable position.

I did say that, if Rau hadn't blatantly charged Zucker, and if he had kept his arms down and avoided contact with his head, there wouldn't have been a penalty called.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 08:49 PM
Suspended for interference I haven't seen but I have seen 5 and a game misc. called for interference in a college game before.
He was suspended for the hit to head, but the point you are missing is that the hit was still late, regardless of whether he was called for it or not, it was late.

I see what you are saying, and respect your opinion. I don't think the timing of the hit was a factor, but in the end it really didn't matter. There was enough else wrong with the hit to make it reckless.

gopheritall
02-14-2012, 08:50 PM
So does Rau have to sit any time that Zucker can't play? Does that mean that he is out of the WCHA tournament when Denver loses? What about the NCAAs? What about when Zucker goes pro? Does Rau have to go pro at the same time? I'm very confused how this rule works.

I assume that someone pointed out that Rau made a dumb play, was penalized and suspended both of which he served. Time to move on people. Rau is not a thug.

dxmnkd316
02-14-2012, 08:51 PM
So does Rau have to sit any time that Zucker can't play? Does that mean that he is out of the WCHA tournament when Denver loses? What about the NCAAs? What about when Zucker goes pro? Does Rau have to go pro at the same time? I'm very confused how this rule works.

I assume that someone pointed out that Rau made a dumb play, was penalized and suspended both of which he served. Time to move on people. Rau is not a thug.

lolwut?

darker98
02-14-2012, 08:53 PM
So does Rau have to sit any time that Zucker can't play? Does that mean that he is out of the WCHA tournament when Denver loses? What about the NCAAs? What about when Zucker goes pro? Does Rau have to go pro at the same time? I'm very confused how this rule works.

Really????

Old Pio
02-14-2012, 09:23 PM
So does Rau have to sit any time that Zucker can't play? Does that mean that he is out of the WCHA tournament when Denver loses? What about the NCAAs? What about when Zucker goes pro? Does Rau have to go pro at the same time? I'm very confused how this rule works.

I assume that someone pointed out that Rau made a dumb play, was penalized and suspended both of which he served. Time to move on people. Rau is not a thug.

He just plays like one. He's a punk. And a chicken bleep punk at that.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 09:24 PM
He just plays like one. He's a punk. And a chicken bleep punk at that.

:rolleyes:

Slap Shot
02-14-2012, 09:25 PM
There are more sensical posts by non-UM fans in this thread than in the history of USCHO combined.

However, Old Pious is clearly not in that crowd. :D

Old Pio
02-14-2012, 09:26 PM
You know what you can do with that emoticon, don't you, bunker boy?