PDA

View Full Version : Suspend Kyle Rau for as long as Jason Zucker is unable to play!



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

Gurtholfin
02-14-2012, 04:11 PM
late!

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 04:14 PM
Well, it was a late hit.

According to the rules, it really wasn't ;)

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 04:15 PM
...and it was late.

Apparently not :)

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 04:16 PM
Ok, enough for me. I've said my piece :)

Gurtholfin
02-14-2012, 04:18 PM
According to the rules, it really wasn't ;)

Please post this "rule" from a credible source.

I don't mean post your friend, the hockey official's opinion. Post the rule itself that you are quoting.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 04:29 PM
Good explanation of the act of "finishing a check" as it relates to the NHL:

<a href="http://blogs.thescore.com/nhl/2011/03/14/on-finishing-the-check/">http://blogs.thescore.com/nhl/2011/03/14/on-finishing-the-check/</a>

"Had Savard been pursuing the puck as opposed to <b>just having shoveled it</b> along the boards, Hunwick probably would have been slapped with an interference penalty on the play. Instead, Hunwick <b>is allowed by NHL rules</b> to rub Savard out along the boards. Savard himself even declared the hit perfectly legal, and under NHL rules it is."

ScoobyDoo
02-14-2012, 04:38 PM
Good explanation of the act of "finishing a check" as it relates to the NHL:

<a href="http://blogs.thescore.com/nhl/2011/03/14/on-finishing-the-check/">http://blogs.thescore.com/nhl/2011/03/14/on-finishing-the-check/</a>

"Had Savard been pursuing the puck as opposed to <b>just having shoveled it</b> along the boards, Hunwick probably would have been slapped with an interference penalty on the play. Instead, Hunwick <b>is allowed by NHL rules</b> to rub Savard out along the boards. Savard himself even declared the hit perfectly legal, and under NHL rules it is."

Don't cite the NHL. Cite the rule.

It was late.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 04:49 PM
Don't cite the NHL. Cite the rule.

It was late.

I'll look for the rule book after I get off work. I'd like to see the actual wording too. I'm guessing I won't find any penalties for "late hits". I'll let you know the actual definition of interference though :)

Tipsy McStagger
02-14-2012, 05:20 PM
It's really a dumb argument I admit because it doesn't really matter much in the grand scheme of things or effect the outcome. I have just heard a lot of people refer to the hit as a "late hit". There isn't a penalty in hockey for a "late hit".
Oh, then it must not have been late. What an idioitic statement. There isn't a specific penalty for pulling a knife out of your waistband and stabbing someone with it, but guess what? They would still call a penalty.

Gurtholfin
02-14-2012, 05:25 PM
Oh, then it must not have been late. What an idioitic statement. There isn't a specific penalty for pulling a knife out of your waistband and stabbing someone with it, but guess what? They would still call a penalty.


Not in the NHL. :p

ScoobyDoo
02-14-2012, 05:26 PM
Not in the NHL. :p

Well, that really depends on what year it is. Or what game it is. Or if it's the playoffs. Or, etc. etc. etc.................................

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 05:27 PM
Oh, then it must not have been late. What an idioitic statement. There isn't a specific penalty for pulling a knife out of your waistband and stabbing someone with it, but guess what? They would still call a penalty.

I'm pretty sure there is a law against that :)

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 05:29 PM
Just checked, nothing specifically written in the NCAA rule book for how long you are allowed to "finish a check" after puck possession. However, there are numerous discussions and articles that mention the general guideline of a few seconds after a puck carrier relinquishes possession to finish a check.

Oh, and no penalty for a "late hit" either.

Tipsy McStagger
02-14-2012, 05:40 PM
Just checked, nothing specifically written in the NCAA rule book for how long you are allowed to "finish a check" after puck possession. However, there are numerous discussions and articles that mention the general guideline of a few seconds after a puck carrier relinquishes possession to finish a check.

Oh, and no penalty for a "late hit" either.
JUST BECAUSE THERE ISN'T A PENALTY CALLED "LATE HIT" DOESN'T MEAN THE HIT WASN'T LATE. No one said he was sent to the box for a late hit penalty. They said the hit was late. It was late. Tardy. After the point it was a legal hockey play. THE END.

Slap Shot
02-14-2012, 05:44 PM
I see that Mariucci still won't stop incessently arguing the dumbest effing points ever. Even if and I mean if the hit wasn't late - and I'd argue it was - it was still a charge and he didn't need to make the contact that he did. Had he let up, kept the hands chest high to eliminate any questions about a hit to the head and not finished we might, might be able to discuss at worst a charge. None of that happened, the hit was unnecessary and he deserved to leave the game.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 05:45 PM
JUST BECAUSE THERE ISN'T A PENALTY CALLED "LATE HIT" DOESN'T MEAN THE HIT WASN'T LATE. No one said he was sent to the box for a late hit penalty. They said the hit was late. It was late. Tardy. After the point it was a legal hockey play. THE END.

Are you suggesting that there are never hits in hockey that occur after the puck carrier relinquishes possession that aren't called for a reason?

ScoobyDoo
02-14-2012, 05:59 PM
It was late. It was late enough to be interference but it was so much easier to call "attempt to decapitate" and send him off the ice.

mnstate0fhockey
02-14-2012, 06:02 PM
It was late. It was late enough to be interference but it was so much easier to call "attempt to decapitate" and send him off the ice.

We'll have to agree to disagree.

SCSU Euro
02-14-2012, 06:24 PM
We'll have to agree to disagree.

You've been asked to show a rule using the phrase "two seconds," you didn't. You've been asked to show a rule showing the phrase "a few seconds," you didn't.

Face it, if that hit were your girlfriend, you'd be discussing whether you should get married now.

Tipsy McStagger
02-14-2012, 06:30 PM
Are you suggesting that there are never hits in hockey that occur after the puck carrier relinquishes possession that aren't called for a reason?

No. There are hits that happen immediately after a player relinquishes possession where the hitter can't avoid hitting the opposing player. This isn't one of those hits.