PDA

View Full Version : UML Offseason Begins



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35

ScottK
06-22-2011, 07:55 AM
Would you prefer math? :D And I realize this talk teeters on the border of math...

Two games remain: Boston College and Vermont. BC you could probably do a home/home on October 29th (you play them on the 28th). UVM: Looks like either 11/27, or either 1/6 or 1/7. I'm leaning towards the latter because UVM has a Tuesday game prior to Thanksgiving. Not to mention, I haven't done the analysis on what UVM needs. They still have another NC game to fill.

It's not going to be 1/6, as Lowell is playing an exhibition game against the Russian Red Stars on 1/5. The league doesn't have teams play solo games at Vermont or at Maine when they play a game the night before. If they play that weekend it'll be either the Saturday or the Sunday.

Ralph Baer
06-23-2011, 01:50 PM
RPI blog Without a Peer's preview of UML http://www.withoutapeer.com/2011/06/know-your-enemy-umass-lowell.html.

I have no connection to WaP besides for as a reader.

boblav1
06-23-2011, 10:32 PM
From Costello to Causeway Street. (http://www.goriverhawks.com/sports/m-hockey/spec-rel/062311aaa.html) A nice story on former UMass Lowell student athletic trainer Scott Waugh.

ScottK
06-28-2011, 10:26 AM
San Jose did not extend qualifying offers to both Hutton and Schaus, making both of them unrestricted free agents.

bigeasy29
06-29-2011, 12:09 AM
so where do you think they will end up?

ScottK
06-29-2011, 09:28 AM
UConn has released their schedule, and they do not list the 10/18 game against Lowell. So, here's the revised schedule. We're still missing 1 game at Vermont, 1 game at BC, and 1 non-conference game.

Sat - 10/8/11 vs. New Brunswick (location TBD)
Fri - 10/14/11 @ MSU - Mankato
Sat - 10/15/11 @ MSU - Mankato
Fri - 10/28/11 vs. BC
Sat - 11/5/11 vs. BU
Fri - 11/11/11 @ Maine
Sat - 11/12/11 @ Maine
Fri - 11/18/11 @ UNH
Sat - 11/19/11 vs. UMA
Fri - 11/25/11 vs. Alabama-Huntsville (4pm)
Fri - 12/2/11 vs. UNH
Sat - 12/3/11 @ UNH
Fri - 12/9/11 vs. BC
Sat - 12/10/11 @ Northeastern
Thu - 12/29/11 vs. RPI @ UConn Classic
Fri - 12/30/11 vs. UConn or Army @ UConn Classic
Thu - 1/5/12 vs. Russian Red Stars (exhibition)
Fri - 1/20/12 vs. Northeastern
Sat - 1/21/12 @ Northeastern
Tue - 1/24/12 @ PC
Fri - 1/27/12 vs. UMA (Listed as Sat 1/28 on UML ticket brochure)
Sat - 1/28/12 @ UMA
Fri - 2/3/12 vs. Vermont
Sat - 2/4/12 vs. Vermont
Fri - 2/10/12 vs. Merrimack
Sat - 2/11/12 vs. Maine
Fri - 2/17/12 vs. BU
Sat - 2/18/12 @ BU
Fri - 2/24/12 @ Merrimack
Sat - 2/25/12 vs. Merrimack
Fri - 3/2/12 @ PC
Sat - 3/3/12 vs. PC

boblav1
06-29-2011, 02:55 PM
I have been told that the first home game will be late in October. Big changes coming this summer to the Tsongas. A new refrigeration system is going to be installed. That construction is expected to begin mid-June and will take all summer into the fall. In addition, all the dasher boards are expected to be replaced and the arena will be getting seamless glass. There will also be new netting in the end zones.
Does anyone know if the work has started at the Tsongas yet?

pressbox
06-29-2011, 03:47 PM
Does anyone know if the work has started at the Tsongas yet?

Yes, the work has started. The arena bowl including the Pavilion club and many other areas have been "shrink-wrapped" to keep all the dust generated over the hockey floor.

mwade
06-29-2011, 06:05 PM
Yes, the work has started. The arena bowl including the Pavilion club and many other areas have been "shrink-wrapped" to keep all the dust generated over the hockey floor.

Will the photo box still be there? (fingers crossed)

FlagDUDE08
06-29-2011, 06:54 PM
UConn has released their schedule, and they do not list the 10/18 game against Lowell. So, here's the revised schedule. We're still missing 1 game at Vermont, 1 game at BC, and 1 non-conference game.


I'd hold off on scratching the UCONN game. UCONN is listed as playing Union, but they can't because Union is already full (unless they happen to dump a game, but they've already announced their schedule, not to mention the schedule really doesn't jive in terms of dates). You might still be playing them, just on a different date.

boblav1
06-29-2011, 11:42 PM
Dwayne Roloson agrees to a one year deal with the Lightning.
http://www.tampabay.com/sports/hockey/lightning/tampa-bay-lightning-goaltender-dwayne-roloson-agree-to-terms-on-one-year-3/1177915

UMLFan
06-30-2011, 11:14 AM
UML Field Hockey's Sammy Macy wins the DII Athlete of the Year (http://www.goriverhawks.com/sports/w-fieldh/spec-rel/062911aab.html). Wow, congrats to her.

UMLFan
07-01-2011, 10:45 AM
Jack Leathersich signs with the Mets (http://www.goriverhawks.com/sports/m-basebl/spec-rel/063011aab.html).

pressbox
07-01-2011, 10:28 PM
@mwade...Yes, the configuration will stay the same as far as I know. It will just look newer.

boblav1
07-02-2011, 09:41 AM
In other Hockey East news:
Merrimack signs Dennehy through 2019. (http://www.eagletribune.com/sports/x357285183/Merrimacks-Dennehy-signs-extension-through-2019)

UMLFan
07-02-2011, 11:12 AM
In other Hockey East news:
Merrimack signs Dennehy through 2019. (http://www.eagletribune.com/sports/x357285183/Merrimacks-Dennehy-signs-extension-through-2019)
Well that won't stop any talk of him moving ... ;)

boblav1
07-06-2011, 12:10 AM
Former River Hawk Ben Walter (http://www.bclocalnews.com/fraser_valley/abbynews/sports/124980174.html) signs with Calgary.

ScottK
07-06-2011, 10:29 AM
Kory Falite has apparently signed with Manglerud in Norway for next season. (Anchorage wasn't far enough away for him?)

Only link I can find needs to be translated into English: http://www.mshockey.no/sak/001736.asp

boblav1
07-07-2011, 04:57 PM
Tsongas Center Construction: New Ice (http://www.goriverhawks.com/sports/m-hockey/spec-rel/070711aac.html)

Nice pictures by Bob Ellis.

Patman
07-07-2011, 09:06 PM
With the arena purchase there was some rumblings about building that second ice sheet... is that going anywhere?