PDA

View Full Version : Rules Question - Delayed Penalty



hockeyjunkie10
02-09-2011, 01:57 PM
Hoping some refs are around to answer this one. If a team is on a 5 on 4 PP and during a delayed penalty (which would give them a 5 on 3) they score. Is the proper call a goal as well as a 5 on 3 PP or a goal but a 5 on 4 PP with the newest infraction going up on the board?

Thanks!

FlagDUDE08
02-09-2011, 02:06 PM
Hoping some refs are around to answer this one. If a team is on a 5 on 4 PP and during a delayed penalty (which would give them a 5 on 3) they score. Is the proper call a goal as well as a 5 on 3 PP or a goal but a 5 on 4 PP with the newest infraction going up on the board?

Thanks!

I'm not sure about this year because of the whole penalty gets served despite any goals on the delayed call, but last year, if this goal were scored, the penalty to cause the 5v4 would be nullified, but the new penalty (which was about to be called) would go on the board, and the full two minutes served (unless of course another goal was scored).

I would recommend consulting the NCAA rule book for an answer to this one.

EDIT: Rule 4-2-d confirms this.

darker98
02-09-2011, 02:33 PM
I want to say that with the goal scored. The guy in the box comes out, but the other guy goes in. I thought I saw it that way once, but I could be wrong.

'MackFan
02-09-2011, 02:36 PM
I want to say that with the goal scored. The guy in the box comes out, but the other guy goes in. I thought I saw it that way once, but I could be wrong.

Pretty sure I saw this in a Merrimack game this year and that is exactly what happened. Guy in the box came out but a new 2:00 PP was put up.