View Full Version : a goal AND a power play

10-13-2010, 08:50 PM
If a team scores during a delayed penalty, the team gets to keep its power play. How does this rule change affect tactics? There was a case of this last weekend in Michigan at BG. A Michigan player took off on a breakaway, and a BG player hooked him enough to draw a penalty but not enough to prevent the goal. I'm thinking the defensive player had darn well prevent the goal in this case. What do you think?

The Rube
10-13-2010, 08:56 PM
It's gonna encourage mugging the offensive player, even though that's not the intent of the rule. It'll be like any other preventative penalty of this nature (fouling someone when they are about to make an easy basket on a breakway, or committing pass interference on an otherwise for-sure catch): "If I totally take him out, maybe tackling him, then at least it's just the penalty."