Schools That Used to Have D-I Hockey

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Schools That Used to Have D-I Hockey

I'm fairly new to following college hockey, so I've been reading a lot about it and have been intrigued by the small number of schools playing it, allegations of new schools adding it, and the schools that have had to drop it.

Firstly, I wanted to find out how big the sport used to be, so I tried to find schools that used to have the sport, of which I found 9 (last season, conference):

Wayne State 07-08 CHA
    Findlay 03-04 CHA
    Fairfield 02-03 AH
    Iona 02-03 AH
    U Illinois-Chicago 95-96 CCHA
    Kent State 93-94 ?
    St. Louis University 78-79 CCHA
    U Penn 77-78 - ECAC
    Ohio U sometime in the '70s ?

All of the articles I read stated that budgetary concerns were the reason for canceling the programs. Once you've built a campus rink, is hockey really any more expensive than other sports? Or did they actuallu mean plunging ticket sales? Are there any schools that have added D-I hockey lately?

Two other things I find somewhat interesting are that 1) there were never any NYC teams. Why not Fordham? Or Columbia, the only Ivy school never to play hockey. 2) There is no hockey culture in the pacific northwest.

If you know any other schools that used to have teams, or schools that have added them within the past decade or so, let me know here. Other discussion about the sport in general is welcome as well.
    MAKE HOBEY PROUD!

"If there really is a hoop heaven, the house band would be Princeton's, troubadours in straw hats who played the theme from "Underdog" late in the Tigers' victory."
    - Sports Illustrated 3/25/96
    "We have 7 national championships. Who's ever heard of you guys?"
    -Drunk NoDak Fan at 2008 Midwest Regional

Re: Schools That Used to Have D-I Hockey