PDA

View Full Version : NCAA News and stuff



joecct
01-04-2018, 05:28 PM
Hmmmm m.

@NCAADIII: If a SA drops a class and is below full-time he/she will no longer be eligible for practice or competition. (Bylaw 14.1.8.1.1) #D3Rules https://twitter.com/NCAADIII/status/949059333391712258/photo/1

spwood
01-05-2018, 08:18 AM
What's the news here?

joecct
01-05-2018, 08:28 AM
You know, not much. I first read this as a class = grade, not, you know, class.

But there will be more, exciting, news coming up. This is the NCAA after all.

NUProf
01-05-2018, 01:44 PM
What's the news here?

That has always been the rule. At Norwich athletes frequently registered for an over load and dropped the classes they felt least likely to pass. It used to be that if a student took a W from a course that that was counted as a grade, and a grade of W was recorded if the student withdrew after the last date to drop that was counted towards their full-time enrollment. For students (not athletes) carrying a minimum full-time load who got in trouble in a course, they could retain full-time status with a W - the problem was that it was contrary to the NCAA rules (which make sense for athletes - I once knew of a football player who W'd from all his courses after mid semester, but remained eligible because a W counted as a grade.) The school changed its regulations for enrollment to comply with the NCAA rules.

The Real Georgia Peach
01-05-2018, 04:36 PM
There used to be a Withdraw Passing and a Withdraw Failing, where one hurt your overall GPA and the other didn't. Has that been done away with?

d3hockey57
01-05-2018, 06:06 PM
There used to be a Withdraw Passing and a Withdraw Failing, where one hurt your overall GPA and the other didn't. Has that been done away with?

No this is still in place. There is a certain date that schools set before the withdraw period ends, and the withdraw counts towards GPA.

NUProf
01-07-2018, 06:26 PM
There used to be a Withdraw Passing and a Withdraw Failing, where one hurt your overall GPA and the other didn't. Has that been done away with?

No, they are just W's now. The effect of a WF was unclear. They weren't calculated in the GPA during my time, but a WF maybe didn't count towards full time enrollment. Now, a W does not count towards enrollment, but does appear on the transcript.

joecct
01-20-2018, 09:32 AM
@NCAADIII: 2018-8: First permissible on-ice practice date in ice hockey was adopted. - Establish second Monday in October as the first permissible on-ice practice date. Does not change the first permissible contest date. http://on.ncaa.com/2Dm6Rwl #NCAAConv https://twitter.com/NCAADIII/status/954736232776503296/photo/1

joecct
02-15-2018, 09:50 AM
You still can't drown your sorrows at an the hockey championships.

https://www.ncaa.org/about/resources/media-center/news/alcohol-sales-pilot-fails-receive-recommendation-diii?sf182230364=1