PDA

View Full Version : RIT Tigers 2017 / 2018. Is time to go out and capture some prey!



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43

RIT Winters
11-04-2017, 08:12 AM
3-0 in conference to start the year is pretty nice, even if AIC kept it closer than it should have been!

komey1
11-04-2017, 10:25 AM
I don't really have a problem with that, as he tracks the puck well and he's generally on the angle. He made a rookie mistake on the 2nd goal when he bit on the cross-crease fake when he had a defender there to take that away - which opened up the near post - but largely I don't have a problem with his positioning.

And RIT needs to give a set amount of free tickets to students like tonight all the time. It creates such a great atmosphere which in turn will draw more people from the community. 3,500 for AIC (1,000 were free student tickets) is a great crowd.

I blame the defense more for not playing situational hockey for goal #2. Just keep the middle clogged up for the last few seconds and they don't get that second goal - which I think gave AIC momentum for the third period that they pretty much dominated.

And totally agree on the set of free tickets for students.

Downstate_RIT_Fan
11-04-2017, 11:35 AM
Highlights from last nights game (and props to RIT for including the AIC goals as well, they must of been reading our posts about not including goals from the opposing teams in previous game highlights). Much thanks RIT!

https://youtu.be/9otdE6C2fdg

jflory81
11-04-2017, 06:27 PM
The TV announcers are correct that the disallowed goal should have counted, but are completely, embarrassingly wrong about why. If the puck was redirected in by Brown's glove, it would indeed be no goal. The problem is it actually looked like it went off his chest, and thus should have counted. I can only think that the officials said that they could not conclusively say it wasn't off of Brown's glove, but I think that's crap. I think it was fairly clear it bounced off his chest from the overhead cam.

EDIT: I guess you could make the argument that he intentionally batted the puck into the next with his chest, but that argument is pretty flimsy to me. Regardless, if it went off his glove, intent doesn't matter, it's no goal. If the puck hit his chest then it would have to be "deliberate" (which is a judgment call in the first place, which pretty much gives the referee an out to not change his call) for the goal to be disallowed.

blazer777
11-04-2017, 08:35 PM
Looked like Drackett was beyond the crease on the OT goal and was trying to reach back to stop it. Regardless, crappy way to end the weekend

RIT Winters
11-04-2017, 08:39 PM
Well it sure was nice having one game this weekend where RIT wasn't constantly parading to the penalty box. This team needs to find more consistent discipline or else every team is going to just poke and prod to get under our skin and beat us on special teams.

Downstate_RIT_Fan
11-04-2017, 08:52 PM
The TV announcers are correct that the disallowed goal should have counted, but are completely, embarrassingly wrong about why. If the puck was redirected in by Brown's glove, it would indeed be no goal. The problem is it actually looked like it went off his chest, and thus should have counted. I can only think that the officials said that they could not conclusively say it wasn't off of Brown's glove, but I think that's crap. I think it was fairly clear it bounced off his chest from the overhead cam.

EDIT: I guess you could make the argument that he intentionally batted the puck into the next with his chest, but that argument is pretty flimsy to me. Regardless, if it went off his glove, intent doesn't matter, it's no goal. If the puck hit his chest then it would have to be "deliberate" (which is a judgment call in the first place, which pretty much gives the referee an out to not change his call) for the goal to be disallowed.

Army scored a goal during the Friday night game against RIT that went off Dom Franco's chest and past Drackett. It was reviewed...good goal, everybody agreed. Same play, yet no goal for RIT tonight, smh with this officiating, every time I see something like this I wish RIT was in a different league even if we had to take our lumps for a few seasons. BTW take a look at who was officiating, and take notes for later games in the season...

blazer777
11-05-2017, 10:58 AM
Army scored a goal during the Friday night game against RIT that went off Dom Franco's chest and past Drackett. It was reviewed...good goal, everybody agreed. Same play, yet no goal for RIT tonight, smh with this officiating, every time I see something like this I wish RIT was in a different league even if we had to take our lumps for a few seasons. BTW take a look at who was officiating, and take notes for later games in the season...

I think they saw him punch the puck with his glove which is a no-no. I could not tell from the replays. Ricochet off a player would count but any motion toward the goal with a body part would call for a no-goal. So says the rule book

Downstate_RIT_Fan
11-05-2017, 11:08 AM
I think they saw him punch the puck with his glove which is a no-no. I could not tell from the replays. Ricochet off a player would count but any motion toward the goal with a body part would call for a no-goal. So says the rule book

I hear what youíre saying Blaze but a shot with a deflection off a stick and then more of a reflex to avoid getting hit does not equate to a volleyball-esque setting the puck up into the air and then smashing home a winner like AICís disallowed goal. Wish I could find Francoís goal on the web from last Friday, basically identical. At any rate what is done is done but I hope the league looks at both of those goals and take corrective action if necessary. On the bright side weíve taken six of eight points these last two weekends so things are looking up.

Scott Biggar
11-05-2017, 11:31 AM
I can only think that the officials said that they could not conclusively say it wasn't off of Brown's glove, but I think that's crap.

Reportedly, the referee's explanation to coach Wilson after the review was that the puck went in directly off of Brown's hand. Obviously, that viewpoint was completely wrong.

blazer777
11-05-2017, 03:17 PM
Reportedly, the referee's explanation to coach Wilson after the review was that the puck went in directly off of Brown's hand. Obviously, that viewpoint was completely wrong.

Regardless of what it hit on Brown, 83.3 says it's an allowed goal as long as he doesn't kick it or pass it on with his hand. Blown call!

LtPowers
11-06-2017, 03:56 PM
Brady Norrish says he decided not to take a medical redshirt, in hopes of moving on to play pro next year.

https://www.facebook.com/RITSportsZone/videos/10155878741064516/?permPage=1


Powers &8^]

RIT Winters
11-07-2017, 08:27 AM
Brady Norrish says he decided not to take a medical redshirt, in hopes of moving on to play pro next year.

https://www.facebook.com/RITSportsZone/videos/10155878741064516/?permPage=1


Powers &8^]

Really feel for the guy. Two devastating knee injuries in as many seasons not only cut his college career drastically short but is certainly going to limit his attractiveness to pro teams who have plenty of younger and/or less injury prone guys to pick from.

Downstate_RIT_Fan
11-07-2017, 08:56 AM
Really feel for the guy. Two devastating knee injuries in as many seasons not only cut his college career drastically short but is certainly going to limit his attractiveness to pro teams who have plenty of younger and/or less injury prone guys to pick from.

We are not familiar with the injury. If Brady decides to go pro then that decision likely came after consulting his doctors and hockey people familiar with the injury. Not too many D1 players out there who havenít had some type of surgery to their hands, wrists, knees, ankles and hips. I think Brady will be just fine and wish him well. Think positive, go Brady!

LtPowers
11-07-2017, 12:41 PM
My understanding is that ACL repairs often leave the ligament stronger than before the surgery, and that subsequent tears aren't any more likely as a result. But some athletes have had remarkably bad luck with ACL tears, and there may be something about certain individuals -- or the way they move -- that makes them more prone. Fairport/Duke squeakballer Caitlin Howe suffered three ACL tears in the same knee before finally giving up on a promising career.


Powers &8^]

RIT Winters
11-08-2017, 11:33 AM
We are not familiar with the injury. If Brady decides to go pro then that decision likely came after consulting his doctors and hockey people familiar with the injury. Not too many D1 players out there who havenít had some type of surgery to their hands, wrists, knees, ankles and hips. I think Brady will be just fine and wish him well. Think positive, go Brady!

You don't have to be a doctor to know that 2 ACL tears in 2 years is not good :rolleyes:

jflory81
11-08-2017, 07:56 PM
Regardless of what it hit on Brown, 83.3 says it's an allowed goal as long as he doesn't kick it or pass it on with his hand. Blown call!

No. If it did hit his hand, his reacting to the puck by raising his hand (which I don't think you can argue he didn't do) would be enough to disallow the goal. It does not take a deliberate attempt to bat the puck into the net with a hand or foot for it not to count. As opposed to where if it hit his chest the officials would have to say he purposefully batted the puck into the net with his chest for it not to count.

TigerFan86-87
11-10-2017, 11:32 AM
So the Grim Reaper (IIRC) is now the Town Supervisor in Henrietta?
Way to go Mr. Steven Shultz! :D

blazer777
11-10-2017, 12:49 PM
No. If it did hit his hand, his reacting to the puck by raising his hand (which I don't think you can argue he didn't do) would be enough to disallow the goal. It does not take a deliberate attempt to bat the puck into the net with a hand or foot for it not to count. As opposed to where if it hit his chest the officials would have to say he purposefully batted the puck into the net with his chest for it not to count.

This would be good for a two minute conversation on the WITR pre-game show because I'm still not sure why it was disallowed. If the ref is saying he saw Brown use his glove, while trying to avoid the puck, move the puck towards the goal, then it wouldn't count in the ref's eyes. If you are saying he used his chest to flick the high speed puck into the goal, well then, that's a neat trick! In the end, I don't have the luxury of slow motion video to state as fact what really happened, only what I saw in the two replays shown and what the rule book allows for.

Ed Trefzger
11-10-2017, 02:37 PM
This would be good for a two minute conversation on the WITR pre-game show because I'm still not sure why it was disallowed. If the ref is saying he saw Brown use his glove, while trying to avoid the puck, move the puck towards the goal, then it wouldn't count in the ref's eyes. If you are saying he used his chest to flick the high speed puck into the goal, well then, that's a neat trick! In the end, I don't have the luxury of slow motion video to state as fact what really happened, only what I saw in the two replays shown and what the rule book allows for.

I wish we could talk about it in some detail but I havenít been able to watch any conclusive replays. An overhead shot would be nice to see. The key is in the opinion of the referee whether Brown threw, batted, or propelled the puck. Itís rather a moot point now, though. On to Robert Morris and what I expect will be two great games.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk