PWR Math

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PWR Math

With the Big Ten adding Notre Dame and moving to a new playoff format next season, I was wondering what implications it might have on PWR math. I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, so I'll put it out to the community to see how it would work.

The new format is a 3-weekend event, all games hosted at campus rinks (well maybe not all, with Wisconsin and Ohio State having multi-purpose facilities, but that isn't important for this discussion)
    Weekend 1:
    #1 gets a bye
    3 highest seeds host 3 lowest seeds
    This will be a best of 3 weekend series

Weekend 2:
    2 highest seeds host 2 lowest seeds
    This will be a single game

Weekend 3:
    Highest seed hosts lowest seed

So the question is this: what is the difference in going 0-1 in a single game format vs going 1-2 in a 3-game format? Do the 2 losses cancel out any gains from the win?

Re: PWR Math

Originally posted by KaMiGo View Post
    With the Big Ten adding Notre Dame and moving to a new playoff format next season, I was wondering what implications it might have on PWR math. I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination, so I'll put it out to the community to see how it would work.

The new format is a 3-weekend event, all games hosted at campus rinks (well maybe not all, with Wisconsin and Ohio State having multi-purpose facilities, but that isn't important for this discussion)
    Weekend 1:
    #1 gets a bye
    3 highest seeds host 3 lowest seeds
    This will be a best of 3 weekend series

Weekend 2:
    2 highest seeds host 2 lowest seeds

Weekend 3:
    Highest seed hosts lowest seed

So the question is this: what is the difference in going 0-1 in a single game format vs going 1-2 in a 3-game format? Do the 2 losses cancel out any gains from the win?