Education as a tool for the NHL

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Education as a tool for the NHL

How important do you think education is to a successful career in the NHL and then beyond?

Re: Education as a tool for the NHL

Depends on how good you are with a stick and skates. I highly doubt anyone wishes Crosby would have gotten a degree.

Comment

As a teacher, I believe an education is quite important. But it can come in many ways because not everyone is college material. Sidney Crosby is set for life and won't need to work beyond his playing days, but some (most players) journeyman players aren't as lucky (gifted). Unless you're extremely good with money and you can play in the NHL (where the money is for even the 12th forward or 6th Dman) for enough years to save up, you're going to need to put your brain to work somehow after your playing days are over.

Even for the Crosbys of the sport, many want to be involved in the NHL after retiring from playing (think GM's like George McPhee), and I'd be willing to bet no team wants an uneducated guy running the franchise.

Besides, who wants to play with a moron?
      "Hockey is the only tribe I belong to." --Jack Falla

"Why, as a matter of fact, I suggested starting a hockey program to Father Callahan, our president. He was downright interested until we came to the use of sticks, and then he threw up his hands. He said, 'No, that game is not for our University. Notre Dame will never endorse any game that puts a club in the hands of an Irishman.' " -- Knute Rockne: All American

Comment

Uneducated != moron

Plenty of people without formal educations and degrees are incredibly smart and successful.
        If you don't change the world today, how can it be any better tomorrow?

Comment

Originally posted by LynahFan View Post
          Uneducated != moron

Plenty of people without formal educations and degrees are incredibly smart and successful.