View Full Version : Congratulations to the 11 Humanitarian Award Nominees

01-21-2013, 07:34 PM

Jason Beattie, Senior, Niagara University

Brett Beebe, Senior, Western Michigan University

Megan Bozek, Senior, University of Minnesota

Cobina Delaney, Senior, Robert Morris University

Dan Evarts, Senior, St. Michael’s College

Jordan Heywood, Junior, Merrimack College

Mike Johnson, Senior, University of Notre Dame

J. Tucker Mullin#, Senior, St. Anselm College

Kaare Odegard#, Senior, University of Alaska

Jeffrey Reppucci, Junior, College of the Holy Cross

Alyssa Zupon, Senior, Yale University

# repeat nominee

01-22-2013, 10:41 AM
Article from the Kalamazoo Gazette regarding Brett Beebe's nomination.

Since Beebe, a senior forward from Redondo Beach, Calif., set foot on WMU’s campus in 2009 he has been involved in the Kalamazoo community. Beebe also established the “Long Hair Don’t Care” foundation in honor of his mother. Through his foundation he has personally raised over $25,000 for the National Breast Cancer Foundation.

He has also been involved in the Special Olympics, helped renovate a house for an underprivileged family in Kalamazoo’s Edison Neighborhood, created the Bronco Buddies Mentor program that matches student-athletes with children from local elementary schools.