PDA

View Full Version : UAA @ Minnesota : 1/11/13 and 1/12/13



Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10

SanTropez
01-12-2013, 01:29 AM
But here we have Gopher fans actually stating the CFB was a bad call.

Then they are wrong or just trying to "play" nice, either way it was a textbook cfb.

skiumah2
01-12-2013, 01:29 AM
Helgeson's elbow probably should have been a 5 minute. When watching on tv it didn't even look like a penalty in normal speed. It wasn't until it was in slow motion where you saw the evidence that it should have been a 5. Maybe that's why he didn't get the major. It didn't look that severe until the replay. I'm not defending the ref here, I'm only offering an explanation.

The CFB call I believe could have gone either way. Budish turned his back at the last second. Generally, you'll see a 2 minute bording call in similar situations but not the major. It looked to me like the UAA player finished his check like he was trying to check him through the boards. That may have been why he got the major. Again, I think that could have been called either way. At least a minor but I also believe its tough to argue with the major the way the check was finished. That being said, I would only have argued if they called nothing.

state of hockey
01-12-2013, 01:32 AM
Then they are wrong or just trying to "play" nice, either way it was a textbook cfb.

I don't think it was. Budish turned right before he was hit. One of those weird gray areas. I have seen worse called a minor, and less called a major. Hooray consistency.

Suze
01-12-2013, 01:34 AM
Helgeson's elbow probably should have been a 5 minute. When watching on tv it didn't even look like a penalty in normal speed. It wasn't until it was in slow motion where you saw the evidence that it should have been a 5. Maybe that's why he didn't get the major. It didn't look that severe until the replay. I'm not defending the ref here, I'm only offering an explanation.

The CFB call I believe could have gone either way. Budish turned his back at the last second. Generally, you'll see a 2 minute bording call in similar situations but not the major. It looked to me like the UAA player finished his check like he was trying to check him through the boards. That may have been why he got the major. Again, I think that could have been called either way. At least a minor but I also believe its tough to argue with the major the way the check was finished. That being said, I would only have argued if they called nothing.

It looked to me, after watching it several times, that Currier didn't even hit Budish full on, he kind of brushed him out and hit him on his side, and Budish hit the boards. Either way, it's water under the bridge and I am still proud of the effort my team showed tonight.

Armadillo
01-12-2013, 01:34 AM
I can't think of one instance this entire season where a UAA fan has said that was the case. But here we have Gopher fans actually stating the CFB was a bad call.

"Bad call" =/= "Referee conspiracy."

state of hockey
01-12-2013, 01:34 AM
It was pretty obvious during the replays shown during the game. I think Helgeson didn't get 5 is due to the angle the ref had. He could see the elbow come up, but I think Helgeson's body was in the way to actually see where he made contact.

That's the only angle BTN showed. You can see the official in front of the camera. If he did get him in the head, it is the second refs job to catch it. That's why there are two now, after all.

uaafanblog
01-12-2013, 01:35 AM
It was pretty obvious during the replays shown during the game. I think Helgeson didn't get 5 is due to the angle the ref had. He could see the elbow come up, but I think Helgeson's body was in the way to actually see where he made contact.
And the other ref ... what was his angle? It isn't like there's two referees for a reason or anything. Giving the ref that called it a pass for his angle is reasonable ... why the other ref didn't chime in is enough reason to sit him. Both of these refs should be barred from Saturday night's game.

uaafanblog
01-12-2013, 01:37 AM
That's the only angle BTN showed. You can see the official in front of the camera. If he did get him in the head, it is the second refs job to catch it. That's why there are two now, after all.

St. Clown didn't make it clear enough. There is NO DOUBT that hegelgoonson contacted the UAA players head with enough force to snap it. You easily saw that on the two or three replays even though the camera angle was in the same position as the referee.

Suze
01-12-2013, 01:37 AM
"Bad call" =/= "Referee conspiracy."

Try reading what I wrote, geepers.

uaafanblog
01-12-2013, 01:38 AM
The Gophers were major beneficiaries of both NON-CALLS and CALLS throughout the entire game.

SanTropez
01-12-2013, 01:38 AM
I don't think it was. Budish turned right before he was hit. One of those weird gray areas. I have seen worse called a minor, and less called a major. Hooray consistency.

I understand that the refs screw up and sometimes only call it a 2 (they are wrong), but if they are truly following the rulebook then it should be a cfb 5 min. I was just laughing that UAA fans just can't believe that would even be thought of as a penalty let alone a 5, lol on that.

And again, kill off the 5 and win the game. simple.

Suze
01-12-2013, 01:39 AM
St. Clown didn't make it clear enough. There is NO DOUBT that hegelgoonson contacted the UAA players head with enough force to snap it. You easily saw that on the two or three replays even though the camera angle was in the same position as the referee.

It was kinda scary watching his head snap back, and they should have been able to see that. Hopefully he won't wake up tomorrow with whiplash.

uaafanblog
01-12-2013, 01:39 AM
I understand that the refs screw up and sometimes only call it a 2 (they are wrong), but if they are truly following the rulebook then it should be a cfb 5 min. I was just laughing that UAA fans just can't believe that would even be thought of as a penalty let alone a 5, lol on that.

And again, kill off the 5 and win the game. simple.

Watch it again tomorrow. Currier barely contacted him.

SanTropez
01-12-2013, 01:42 AM
Watch it again tomorrow. Currier barely contacted him.

I will

On another note, I'm sure the refs got an earful from Shyiak and will be looking for any reason to call a 5 on the Gophers tomorrow night, that's how it usually works.

Suze
01-12-2013, 01:42 AM
I understand that the refs screw up and sometimes only call it a 2 (they are wrong), but if they are truly following the rulebook then it should be a cfb 5 min. I was just laughing that UAA fans just can't believe that would even be thought of as a penalty let alone a 5, lol on that.

And again, kill off the 5 and win the game. simple.

I said "I think the call was questionable. 2 minutes, sure, but not a 5." So which fan's are you talking about. Seriously, you need to take a class in reading comprehension.

Slap Shot
01-12-2013, 01:43 AM
I can't think of one instance this entire season where a UAA fan has said that was the case. But here we have Gopher fans actually stating the CFB was a bad call.

The refs don't make these call using replay. I thought the CFB was a fine call and also would not have complained had Helgeson get the same for possible contact to the head. I am not convinced on the latter, but could see it being called. None of which means a conspiracy was involved.

Suze
01-12-2013, 01:45 AM
The refs don't make these call using replay. I thought the CFB was a fine call and also would not have complained had Helgeson get the same for possible contact to the head. I am not convinced on the latter, but could see it being called. None of which means a conspiracy was involved.

And I never said anything about a conspiracy. Someone else used that terminology.

Slap Shot
01-12-2013, 01:46 AM
And I never said anything about a conspiracy. Someone else used that terminology.

That was not directed at you Suze, just an at-large comment. You're a good fan and don't begrude your disappointment in the outcome.

skiumah2
01-12-2013, 01:50 AM
It looked to me, after watching it several times, that Currier didn't even hit Budish full on, he kind of brushed him out and hit him on his side, and Budish hit the boards. Either way, it's water under the bridge and I am still proud of the effort my team showed tonight.
I agree, water under the bridge but I have to respectfully disagree with you because Currier nailed him. I can accept an arguement that it shouldn't have been a major but it was definitely a penalty. He didn't brush him or hit him on the side. He drilled him good.

I do want to point out how often I see people complain about their team getting called for CFB majors. The number of years this has been a point of emphasis, it still surprises me how people aren't used to this yet. If there is contact that even appears to be from behind and near the boards, the probability of a major penalty being called is, and has been since the point of emphasis began, very high.

What can't be argued is knowing what we do about how this is called, you can't go flying at a player near the boards out of control like Currier did. When Budish turned his back, Currier was already committed. If he had come in under control, maybe he could have pulled up and avoided the hard contact. We can argue all day whether it was called correctly or not but Currier should shoulder most of the blame for being out of control. He did this to his team far more than the referees did.

HarleyMC
01-12-2013, 01:52 AM
Helgeson's elbow probably should have been a 5 minute. When watching on tv it didn't even look like a penalty in normal speed. It wasn't until it was in slow motion where you saw the evidence that it should have been a 5. Maybe that's why he didn't get the major. It didn't look that severe until the replay. I'm not defending the ref here, I'm only offering an explanation.

The CFB call I believe could have gone either way. Budish turned his back at the last second. Generally, you'll see a 2 minute bording call in similar situations but not the major. It looked to me like the UAA player finished his check like he was trying to check him through the boards. That may have been why he got the major. Again, I think that could have been called either way. At least a minor but I also believe its tough to argue with the major the way the check was finished. That being said, I would only have argued if they called nothing.

Not what I see in slow-mo on the Helgy hit. It looked to me that Helgy dips his shoulder a bit on impact and nailed the UAA player with more of his arm than elbow. The contact to the head did not appear significant with the ref standing about 10 feet away looking on. I'd say "no" on a 5 here.